Bonding on the trail

I ran on Monday and haven’t been able to get back since! The weather was rainy yesterday and I had some work obligations the day before. We, me and the pup, ran the trail the opposite route we normally go, and it seemed more difficult! It should be same amount of hills and flat since you start and end at the same place, but it felt more difficult than usual. Maybe because we started out running on flat rather than walking up the hills.

It is amazing how the pup and I bond over our runs. She will put her head in my lap as we drive back to the house, and hangs out in the office with me more. She cuddled with me Monday night and followed my commands. Yesterday, she needed her dad more and has been snuggling with him more and has been in her kennel waiting for dad to get home, rather than with me in the office.

Any suggestions to keep the pup happy and excited to spend time with me even on the days we can’t make it to the trail? Is it simply an attention thing or is there something else?

See ya on the trails!

~Gray

Leave a comment